CIB Finals: Asal Hat Trick…. Gohar after 130m…



[1] Nouran Gohar 3-0 [3] Hania El Hammamy  10-11, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6, 12-10 (130m)
[4] Mostafa Asal 3-1 [1] Diego Elias (PER)  9-11, 11-6, 11-3, 11-5 (81m)


[3] Hania El Hammamy 2-0 [6] Nour El Tayeb  11-3, 11-8 (21m)
[1] Nouran Gohar 2-1 [2] Nour El Sherbini  11-7, 10-11, 11-8 (56m)

[4] Mostafa Asal
2-0 [2] Ali Farag 11-2, 11-5 (37m)

Day Four

[6] Mazen Hesham 2-1 [4] Mostafa Asal  2-11, 11-8, 11-5 (38m)

[6] Nour El Tayeb 2-0 [4] Joelle King (NZL)  11-10, 11-8 (30m)
[2] Nour El Sherbini2-0 [7] Georgina Kennedy (ENG)  11-3, 11-4 (18m)
[3] Hania El Hammamy2-0 [5] Nele Gilis (BEL)  11-9, 11-8 (34m)

Day FOUR : Semi-Finalists decided in Cairo

Day Three

[2] Nour El Sherbini  2-0 [4] Joelle King (NZL)  11-3, 11-4 (18m)
[1] Nouran Gohar 2-0 [8] Olivia Fiechter (USA)  11-3, 11-5 (19m)
[7] Georgina Kennedy (ENG) 2-1 [6] Nour El Tayeb  11-7, 8-11, 11-8 (34m)

[2] Ali Farag 2-1 [3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (ENG) 9-11, 11-5, 11-3 (40m)


Day THREE : Four semi-final spots decided

Day Two

MB R1 [3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (Eng) 2-0 [8] Tarek Momen  11-6, 11-4 (16m)
MA R2 [4] Mostafa Asal 2-1 [1] Diego Elias (Per)  10-11, 11-7, 12-10 (90m)
MA R2 [6] Mazen Hesham  2-0 [7] Victor Crouin (Fra)  11-7, 11-6 (27m)

WA R2 [3] Hania El Hammamy  2-1 [1] Nouran Gohar  10-11, 11-10, 11-4 (56m)

Day TWO : Top seeds beaten on dramatic Day Two

Day One

WA [1] Nouran Gohar 2-0 [5] Nele Gilis (Bel) 11-6, 11-0 (22m)
MA [1] Diego Elias (Per) 2-0 [6] Mazen Hesham  11-8, 11-5 (30m)
WA [3] Hania El Hammamy  2-0 [8] Olivia Fiechter (Usa) 11-6, 11-7 (27m)
MA [4] Mostafa Asal 2-0 [7] Victor Crouin (Fra) 11-3, 11-9 (32m)
WB [2] Nour El Sherbini  2-1 [6] Nour El Tayeb  10-11, 11-10, 11-7 (42m)
MB [2] Ali Farag 2-1 [5] Paul Coll (Nzl)  9-11, 11-3, 11-7 (46m)

Day ONE : top seeds and defending champs win


Group A

[2] Diego Elias (Per)
[4] Mostafa Asal
[6] Mazen Hesham
[7] Victor Crouin (Fra)

Group B

[2] Ali Farag 
[3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (Eng)
[5] Paul Coll (Nzl)
[8] Tarek Momen 

Group A

1) Nouran Gohar 
3) Hania El Hammamy 
5) Nele Gilis (BEL)
8) Olivia Fiechter (USA)

Group B

2) Nour El Sherbini
4) Joelle King (NZL)
6) Nour El Tayeb 
7) Georgina Kennedy (ENG)

Gohar and El Hammamy Drawn Together at CIB PSA World Tour Finals

Nouran Gohar and Hania El Hammamy will reignite their fierce rivalry at the upcoming CIB PSA World Tour Finals after both players were drawn together in Group A of the women’s event.

Held between June 20-25 at Cairo’s brand-new EDNC SODIC venue, the CIB PSA World Tour Finals brings together the top eight players on the CIB Road to Egypt Standings for an event which will bring the curtain down on the 2022-23 PSA World Tour season.

World No.1 Gohar will headline Group A alongside No.3 seed El Hammamy. The pair contested the fifth-longest women’s match of all time at the El Gouna International earlier this month, with their mammoth battle totalling 107 minutes. It was the fifth time they had met this season, with Gohar winning three matches to El Hammamy’s two.

Belgium’s World No.7 Nele Gilis and USA’s World No.9 Olivia Fiechter are the other two players drawn in Group A, with both players in line to make their World Tour Finals debuts. Gilis became the first Belgian player ever to reach a Platinum final in El Gouna, while Fiechter – who finished ninth on the CIB Road to Egypt Standings – has received a late call-up to the event following the withdrawal of compatriot Amanda Sobhy due to an adductor injury.

Defending champion Nour El Sherbini tops Group B after finishing second on the standings. El Sherbini has a chance to reclaim the World No.1 spot in Cairo if she can retain her title and Gohar fails to reach the title decider. To get that far, El Sherbini must navigate a group which includes World No.4 Joelle King, World No.6 Nour El Tayeb and World No.8 Georgina Kennedy.

Peru’s Diego Elias is seeded at No.1 in the men’s event and he will aim to become the first non-Egyptian since Gregory Gaultier in 2016 to win the World Tour Finals. There have been four different World No.1s in the men’s game this season and Elias is joined in Group A by the man he replaced at the summit of the rankings in April, Mostafa Asal.

Asal is hoping to become the first man since Peter Nicol in 2001 to win three World Tour Finals titles in a row. 2020 champion Marwan ElShorbagy and debutant Victor Crouin will also appear in Group A.

Group B will be headed up by current World No.1 Ali Farag, who has won his last four tournaments in succession. He is yet to win the World Tour Finals but did reach the title decider in 2018, when he lost to two-time winner Mohamed ElShorbagy. ElShorbagy will feature alongside Farag in Group B and they will be joined by last year’s runner-up Paul Coll and World No.8 Mazen Hesham.